Archive for March 31, 2010

How to remove the ads from Yahoo Messenger 10

Posted in Life with tags , , , , , , , , on March 31, 2010 by smurariu

I don’t much like ads. I think nobody does. Besides, I’m ad-blind. So I thought that there are more useful ways of using the space on my HDD than storing a 2K add that ends up filling the whole allocation unit anyway.

There’s a simple way of removing these ads that is completely reversible and involves no hacking your registry or anything of the sort:
Open your hosts file (C:\Windows\System32\drivers\etc\hosts) in your favorite text editor (Notepad++ for me) and add the following 3 lines to it:
127.0.0.1 ad.yieldmanager.com
127.0.0.1 insider.msg.yahoo.com
127.0.0.1 content.yieldmanager.edgesuite.net

Presto! You’re add free in yahoo messenger!

What this does is “redirects” the requests going to those 3 servers to your localhost (127.0.0.1) and, in doing so, rids you of adds.

Cheers!